SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Minutes



August 16, 2023 5:00PM

In accordance with the Open Public Meetings Act, notice of this Meeting of the Hope Academy Charter School Board of Trustees was given on August 14, 2023, to the Asbury Park Press, August 9, 2023 to the Asbury Park Municipal Hall, and posted at the school. A copy of this notice is available upon request.

I. MEETING CALLED TO ORDER AT 5:00PM.

Flag Salute

Public present: Linda Mambelli

Roll Call: The Board of Trustees meet hybrid @ Hope Academy Charter School and via live stream WebEx, available to the public via our school website.

P (R)	P (R)	P (R)	P (R) @ 5:09pm	P (R)	А	P (R)	P (IP)	P (IP)
Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders- Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman- Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member	DaVisha Pratt Superintendent/ CSA	Felicia Kennedy SBA/Board Secretary

The Board adopts the agenda of August 16, 2023: Motions and votes.

Moved by (1st) and seconded (2nd)		1 st	2 nd				
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman-Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:	Y	Y	Υ		Y		Y

II. MINUTES

The secretary presents the minutes of the Board Meeting on **June 28, 2023**, as distributed, and recommends them for approval and adoption.

Moved by (1st) and seconded (2nd)		1 st	2 nd				
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman-Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:	Υ	Y	Υ		Y		Y

III. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- Executive—Claudia Morgan, Kanesha Jones, DaVisha Pratt, Felicia Kennedy
- Personnel- Jakora Holman, Kanesha Jones, DaVisha Pratt, Felicia Kennedy
- Finance & Building-Claudia Morgan, DaVisha Pratt, Linda Mambelli, Sheree Sanders-Jones, Felicia Kennedy, Estelle Cadet
- Curriculum-DaVisha Pratt, Sheree Sanders-Jones, Kristin Zink, Jasmine Marshall-Butler, Nyema Roddy
- Policy-Claudia Morgan, Jakora Holman, DaVisha Pratt, Felicia Kennedy
- Attendance/Discipline- Kevin Elam, Shanna Armour, Kristin Zink, John Thorp, Nyema Roddy
- Nominating Committee-Claudia Morgan, Angela Martinez, Kevin Elam, DaVisha Pratt, Felicia Kennedy

IV. NEW BUSINESS:

A. DISCUSSION/INFORMATION ITEMS:

- 1. CSA Report New Hires
- 2. Facilities Update 5th fl. Renovation; On target to complete the Science room by Sept 6th. Art room will be finished later in the month when delayed materials arrive.
- 3. CSP Update Amendment to the CSP budget for the planning period (1/1/22-6/30/23).

V. RESOLUTIONS:

A. Financial:

- 1. **Resolution SP-08-23A1:** Approves the amended budget for **CSP Grant planning period** as presented.
- 2. Resolution SP-08-23A2: Approves the updated 21-22 ACFR as presented.

B. Personnel:

1. **Resolution SP-08-23B1:** Approves hiring for the following **new staff** starting the 2023-24 School Year.

Name	Position	Salary
Francesca Cameron	Fourth Grade Teacher	\$56,450
Jennifer Field	Kindergarten Teacher	\$51,850
Joshua Pigman	Special Education Teacher	\$56,450
Marina Fazio	Third Grade Teacher	\$50,250

C. Miscellaneous:

- 1. **Resolution SP-08-23C1:** Approves the monthly **Security drills** as presented. https://acrobat.adobe.com/link/review?uri=urn:aaid:scds:US:5791be4d-9b72-3bf3-b1fc-42709f93e36b
- **2. Resolution SP-08-23C2:** Approves the **revised School Calendar** for 2023-2024 as presented.
 - Added January 2, 2024 as part of the winter break.

D. Vendor Contracts:

- 1. **Resolution SP-08-23D1:** Approves the contract with **Incident IQ** to provide the HR and Facilities ticketing system at the annual subscription cost of \$4,785.71 plus the one time on boarding fee of \$2,287.50. (General Funds)
- 2. Resolution SP-08-23D2: Approves the agreement for Sienna Landscaping, LLC to provide landscaping services at \$144.00 per visit and snow removal services at \$295.00 per hour. Other services billed as needed. (General Funds)
- **3. Resolution SP-08-23D3:** Approves the agreement for **R&L Payroll Services** to provide payroll processing for the 2023-24 school year. (General Funds)
- **Resolution SP-08-23D4:** Approves the proposal for **J&J** Construction to complete additional unforeseen repairs needed to secure the foundation of the subfloor on the 2nd fl of campus 2 in preparation for the 2023-24 school year for the amount of \$27,201.60. (General Funds)
- **5. Resolution SP-08-23D5:** Approves the proposal for **Parksure Pro Contracting LLC** to repair the flooring in the 4th cafeteria at Campus 1 to meet food safety inspection code in preparation for the 2023-24 school year for the amount of \$3,035. (General Funds)
- **Resolution SP-08-23D6:** Approves the proposal for **Magic Touch Construction Co. Inc.** to replace (3) of the current water fountains with new bottle filling coolers in preparation for the 2023-24 school year for the amount of \$27,219.33. (ESSER III Funds)

E. Policies / Curriculum:

1. Resolution SP08-23E1: Approval and re-adoption of the following policies:

Policy #	Policy Name	NJSBA Date Update	HACS Board Adopted	HACS Board Re- Adopted
P 5131.5 LR 5131.5	Vandalism & Violence	March 2023	June 2018	8/16/2023

https://acrobat.adobe.com/link/review?uri=urn:aaid:scds:US:74c47b3e-2bde-3c4f-91cd-a6ac22670b77https://acrobat.adobe.com/link/review?uri=urn:aaid:scds:US:ac891202-2691-3254-8128-c5fc00aa7f14

Are there any resolutions the Board wants to table or vote separately?

Move to approve and adopt Resolutions: SP08-23A1-A2; SP08-23B1; SP08-23C1-C2; SP08-23D1-D6; SP08-23E1

Moved by (1st) and seconded (2nd)		2 nd			1 st		
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman-Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:	Y	Y	Υ	Υ	Υ		Y

VI. PUBLIC COMMENTS: None

Motions to open the public comment session:

Moved by (1 st) and seconded (2 nd)							
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman-Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:							

Motions to close the public comment session:

VII. BOARD COMMENTS: None

VIII. MEETING ADJOURNED AT 5:22PM

Moved by (1st) and seconded (2nd)			2 nd		1 st		
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman-Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Y		Υ