#### REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES



# Minutes

## August 3, 2022 6:00PM

In accordance with the Open Public Meetings Act, notice of this Special Meeting of the Hope Academy Charter School Board of Trustees was given on July 23, 2022 to the Asbury Park Press, July 28, 2022 to the Coaster and the Asbury Park Municipal Hall, and posted at the school. A copy of this notice is available upon request.

#### I. MEETING CALLED TO ORDER AT 6:05 PM.

## Flag Salute

## **Public present:**

Roll Call: The Board of Trustees meet via live stream WebEx, available to the public via our school website.

	Present	Absent	Present	Present	Present	Absent	Present	Present
Claudia	Sheree	Kevin	Jakora	Kanesha	Jasmine	Estelle Cadet	DaVisha Pratt	Felicia
Morgan	Sanders-	Elam	Holman-	Jones	Marshall-Butler	Board	Superintendent/	Kennedy
President	Jones	Board	Thompson	Board	Board Member	Member	CSA	SBA/Board
	Vice	Member	Board	Member				Secretary
	President		Member					

## The Board adopts the agenda of August 3, 2022: Motions and votes

Moved by (1 <sup>st</sup> ) and seconded (2 <sup>nd</sup> )		1 <sup>st</sup>			2 <sup>nd</sup>		
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman- Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:	Yes	Yes		Yes	Yes	Yes	

#### II. MINUTES

The secretary presents the minutes of the regular Board Meeting of **June 29<sup>th</sup>**, **2022** as distributed and recommends them for approval and adoption.

Moved by (1 <sup>st</sup> ) and seconded (2 <sup>nd</sup> )		1 <sup>st</sup>			2nd		
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman- Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:	Yes	Yes		Yes	Yes	Yes	

#### III. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- Executive—Claudia Morgan, Kanesha Jones, DaVisha Pratt, Felicia Kennedy
- Personnel- Jakora Holman, Kanesha Jones, DaVisha Pratt, Felicia Kennedy
- **Finance & Building-**Claudia Morgan, DaVisha Pratt, Linda Hoxha, Sheree Sanders-Jones, Felicia Kennedy, Estelle Cadet
- Curriculum-DaVisha Pratt, Sheree Sanders-Jones, Kristin Zink, Jasmine Marshall-Butler
- Policy-Claudia Morgan, Jakora Holman, John Thorp, DaVisha Pratt, Felicia Kennedy
- Attendance/Discipline- Kevin Elam, Shanna Armour, Kristin Zink.
- Nominating Committee-Claudia Morgan, Angela Martinez, Kevin Elam, DaVisha Pratt, Felicia Kennedy

#### IV. NEW BUSINESS:

## A. DISCUSSION/INFORMATION ITEMS

- 1. Health Insurance Update (HSA)
- 2. Business Office Transition
- 3. New Staff Hiring for 2022-23
- 4. Resignation
- 5. Student Recruitment
- **6.** Board of Trustee Training; NJ School Boards

- **7.** Board Goal Setting for 2022-23
- 8. Partnership with Monmouth County Vocational School District

#### **Closed Executive Session:** To discuss:

- Board self-evaluation.
- Board goals for the 2022-23 school year.

## Go into a Closed Executive session at 6:25 PM.

Moved by (1 <sup>st</sup> ) and seconded (2 <sup>nd</sup> )		1 <sup>st</sup>			2 <sup>nd</sup>		
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman- Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:	Yes	Yes		Yes	Yes	Yes	

## Go into Open Public session at 6:57 PM.

Moved by (1 <sup>st</sup> ) and seconded (2 <sup>nd</sup> )		2 <sup>nd</sup>		1st			
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman- Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:	Yes	Yes		Yes	Yes	Yes	

## V. RESOLUTIONS:

#### A. Financial:

1. **Resolution SP-08-22A1:** Approval of the additional work needed for the building repair and restoration of the retainer wall from **J&J Construction** in the amount of \$13,500.

2. **Resolution SP-08-22A2:** Approval of the proposal from **WOW Painting** in the amount of \$15,725 to complete the painting of the classrooms and other necessary locations in preparation for the 22-23 school year.

#### **B.** Personnel

**1. Resolution SP-08-22B1:** Approval the hiring for the following **new staff** starting the 2022-23 School Year.

Name	Position	Salary
Yessica Rivera	Business Office Secretary	\$50,000

- **2. Resolution SP-08-22B2:** Approval of the **resignation of Heather Hirtzel** for the 2022-23 School Year as of 10/1/22 should the CSA find a replacement; the individual can be released early from her contract.
- **3. Resolution SP-08-22B3:** Approval of the **Professional Development** and associated mileage reimbursements as presented.

#### C. Miscellaneous:

1. **Resolution SP-08-22C1:** Approval of monthly **Security drills** as presented:

Fire Drill Review Entire School (all staff, faculty and students) 7/14/22 @ 9:00AM

Emergency Drill Entire School (all staff, faculty and students) 7/26/22 @ 9:00AM

- 2. **Resolution SP-08-22C2:** Approves of the **revised Custodial Calendar** for 2022-2023 as presented.
  - Revised dates to coincide with holidays
  - Added Election Day as Holiday
- **D. Vendor Contracts:**
- E. Policies/Curriculum:

# Are there any resolutions the Board wants to table or vote separately?

# Move to approve and adopt Resolutions: SP-08-22A1; SP-08-22A2; SP-08-22B1; SP-08-22B2; SP-08-22B3; SP-08-22C1; SP-08-22C2

Moved by (1 <sup>st</sup> ) and seconded (2 <sup>nd</sup> )		2 <sup>nd</sup>			1st		
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman- Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:	Yes	Yes		Yes	Yes	Yes	

## VI. Public Comments:

## Motions to open the public comment session:

Moved by (1 <sup>st</sup> ) and seconded (2 <sup>nd</sup> )							
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman- Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:							

## Motions to close the public comment session:

Moved by (1 <sup>st</sup> ) and seconded (2 <sup>nd</sup> )							
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman- Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:							

# **Comments by Board:**

## **MEETING ADJOURNED AT 7:05 PM**

Moved by (1 <sup>st</sup> ) and seconded (2 <sup>nd</sup> )		1st		2nd			
	Claudia Morgan President	Sheree Sanders-Jones Vice President	Kevin Elam Board Member	Jakora Holman- Thompson Board Member	Kanesha Jones Board Member	Jasmine Marshall-Butler Board Member	Estelle Cadet Board Member
Vote:	Yes	Yes		Yes	Yes	Yes	